6

I go to the admin login in Chrome after clearing all cookies and everything. First thing I check Chrome cookies. I see only one cookie.

Name: adminhtml

Domain: .mysite.com

Path: /

Created: Tuesday, May 24, 2016 at 2:22:00 PM

Expires: Wednesday, May 24, 2017 at 2:22:00 PM (a year from today).

Under Configuration/Advanced/Admin/Security/

Session Lifetime (seconds) =31536000

In phpinfo it says:

session.cookie_lifetime 86400

session.gc_maxlifetime 86400

In index.php I have this:

ini_set('session.cookie_lifetime', '31536000');

ini_set('session.gc_maxlifetime', '31536000');

TIME SETTINGS:

GMT: 18:22:00

Local time: 02:22:00 pm

In .htaccess this: php_value date.timezone 'America/New_York'

New York time: 2:22 PM

Server time America/Phoenix: 11:22 AM

How come it logs me off? Looks like it should at least last one day.

BTW What is the difference in Sessions and Cookies?

Thanks

  • I am not sure I understood your question: is that happening just in Chrome? Are you able to login and the system is logging you out before one day, or are you not even logging in? – Bruno Monteiro Jun 30 '16 at 21:33
  • Cookies are files saved in the browser, which means that the user can edit or delete it. Session is a virtual storage, there is no file on the user's browser and the user don't have control over it. More info here – Bruno Monteiro Jun 30 '16 at 21:36
  • Session values are usually reset after a period of time has passed without a connection from the client with which the session is associated. Cookie values are saved until their expiry time or the browser is closed if one isn't set – karthick Nov 30 '16 at 10:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.