So in the past we made the mistake of deleting orders from our Magento store.
We had an order today where a UK customer purchased a book. They paid and received all the correct notification via email.
We then logged in to the admin to review the order. It was completely different from the email notification. It had a US address, a different payment method, products were added which no longer exist. These details were from past test orders.
Another thing we noticed is that the confirmation email was also sent to other users, not in any way connected with this order.
I know we made a mistake in deleting past orders and that is undoubtedly the cause of our problem, but does anybody have any advice on how to reset things, without starting afresh.